Pack of Ten

Improvising freely with ten musicians is generally considered to be difficult, and rightly so. Nevertheless, pianist Claudia Ulla Binder had long wanted to try her hand at it. Her wish came true last year when she received a Carte Blanche from the Jazzblub Moods. The group was formed with some of the pianist’s long-time companions, such as the BOX trio (Binder/Weber/Ulrich) and the Allemano/Binder/Schlegel trio. In addition, there were musicians with whom she had played several times over the years or those who met for the first time in the “Pack of Ten”.

The group made a flying start with its first performance last November at Moods in Zurich. This success is due to all the band members’ long experience in improvisation and the fact that they have all played in very different contexts.

All the performers pay the utmost attention at all times to the overall sound and concentrate on developing a musical form. This creates space for sonic diversity, individuality, moments of surprise and transparency.

www.claudiabinder.com

 

TICKETS

 

 

Tiziana Bertoncini
Liz Allbee
Lina Allemano
Sandra Weiss
Thomas Lehn
Claudia Ulla Binder
Christian Weber
Jan Schlegel
Dieter Ulrich
Gerry Hemingway
vl
tp
tp
s
analog-synth
p
b
b
dr
perc

Pack of Ten

Improviser librement à dix est généralement considéré à juste titre comme étant difficile. La pianiste Claudia Ulla Binder souhaitait de longue date s’y essayer. Son vœu a été réalisé l’année dernière lorsqu’elle s’est vue offrir une carte blanche par le Jazzclub Moods. La composition du groupe s’est faite avec des compagnons de longue date de la pianiste, comme le trio BOX (Binder/Weber/Ulrich) et le trio Allemano/Binder/Schlegel. S’y sont ajoutés des artistes avec lesquels elle a joué à plusieurs reprises au fil du temps ou qui se sont rencontrés pour la première fois dans le « Pack of Ten ».

Le groupe a pris un départ fulgurant lors de sa première prestation en novembre dernier au Moods de Zurich. Cette réussite est imputable à la longue expérience de tous les membres du groupe dans le registre de l’improvisation et au fait qu’ils ont tous joué dans des contextes très différents.

Tous les membres du groupe accordent à chaque moment la plus grande attention au son global et se concentrent sur le développement d’une forme musicale. Cela crée un espace pour la diversité sonore, l’individualité, les moments de surprise et la transparence.

www.claudiabinder.com

 

TICKETS

 

 

Tiziana Bertoncini
Liz Allbee
Lina Allemano
Sandra Weiss
Thomas Lehn
Claudia Ulla Binder
Christian Weber
Jan Schlegel
Dieter Ulrich
Gerry Hemingway
vl
tp
tp
s
analog-synth
p
b
b
dr
perc