Pack of Ten

Improvising freely with ten musicians is generally considered to be difficult, and rightly so. Nevertheless, pianist Claudia Ulla Binder had long wanted to try her hand at it. Her wish came true last year when she received a Carte Blanche from the Jazzblub Moods. The group was formed with some of the pianist’s long-time companions, such as the BOX trio (Binder/Weber/Ulrich) and the Allemano/Binder/Schlegel trio. In addition, there were musicians with whom she had played several times over the years or those who met for the first time in the “Pack of Ten”.

The group made a flying start with its first performance last November at Moods in Zurich. This success is due to all the band members’ long experience in improvisation and the fact that they have all played in very different contexts.

All the performers pay the utmost attention at all times to the overall sound and concentrate on developing a musical form. This creates space for sonic diversity, individuality, moments of surprise and transparency.

www.claudiabinder.com

 

TICKETS

 

 

Tiziana Bertoncini
Liz Allbee
Lina Allemano
Sandra Weiss
Thomas Lehn
Claudia Ulla Binder
Christian Weber
Jan Schlegel
Dieter Ulrich
Gerry Hemingway
vl
tp
tp
s
analog-synth
p
b
b
dr
perc

Halle

Pack of Ten

Zu zehnt frei zu improvisieren gilt gemeinhin zu Recht als schwierig. Der langjährige Wunsch der Pianistin Claudia Ulla Binder genau das zu probieren, ging im letzten Jahr in Erfüllung, als sie vom Jazzblub Moods eine Carte Blanche erhielt. Die Zusammensetzung der Gruppe ergab sich aus langjährigen Weggefährten der Pianistin wie dem Trio BOX (Binder/Weber/Ulrich) und dem Trio Allemano/Binder/Schlegel. Dazu kamen Musiker*innen mit denen sie im Lauf der Jahre immer wieder gespielt hatte ebenso wie solche die sich im «Pack of Ten» zum ersten Mal begegneten.

Die Gruppe hat bei ihrem ersten Auftritt im vergangenen November im Moods in Zürich einen fulminanten Start hingelegt. Die Basis für dieses Gelingen liegt in der langjährigen Improvisationserfahrung aller Bandmitglieder und der Tatsache, dass alle in den unterschiedlichsten Kontexten gespielt haben.

Alle Bandmitglieder bringen zu jedem Zeitpunkt die grösste Aufmerksamkeit für den Gesamtsound auf und haben die Entwicklung einer musikalischen Form im Fokus. Das schafft Raum für klangliche Vielfalt, Individualität, Überraschungsmomente und Transparenz.

www.claudiabinder.com

 

TICKET KAUFEN

 

 

Tiziana Bertoncini
Liz Allbee
Lina Allemano
Sandra Weiss
Thomas Lehn
Claudia Ulla Binder
Christian Weber
Jan Schlegel
Dieter Ulrich
Gerry Hemingway
vl
tp
tp
s
analog-synth
p
b
b
dr
perc