2016 — 50 Years of Jazz in Willisau

The first jazz festival took place in Willisau in 1975. One can self-indulgently allow the names from that time to pass once again through one‘s ears: Archie Shepp, Cecil Taylor, Frank Wright, Brotherhood of Breath, Mike Osborne, Noah Howard, John Tchicai, Irène Schweizer, Albert Mangesldorff, OM. That is the sound of Free Music and Avant-garde Jazz. And it would also sound like that – in the small town in located in the middle of nowhere.

Willisau has at all times been more individually programmed than other jazz festivals. Free Jazz, Black Music and Improvisation have been its pillars. But very soon there came along interfaces to rock, to ethnic music and to electronics. This is how the Willisau Jazz Festival has made its worldwide excellent reputation over the years. Keith Jarrett’s claim that “Willisau is one of the best places for music“ had very soon to be taken into account

Its one time leading light Niklaus Troxler has started at the end of the 1960s with regular jazz sessions in the Mohren Hotel and in the Kreuz Restaurant. After hundreds of annual concerts and 35 festivals he handed over the leadership to his Nephew Arno Troxler in 2010. The latter has further confidently promoted the spirit of the Willisau history and every year is adding new features and individual facets to it.

Further information: www.willisaujazzarchive.ch

2016 — 50 Jahre Jazz in Willisau

1975 fand in Willisau das erste Jazz Festival statt. Die damaligen Namen kann man sich genüsslich nochmals durch die Ohren ziehen lassen: Archie Shepp, Cecil Taylor, Frank Wright, Brotherhood of Breath, Mike Osborne, Noah Howard, John Tchicai, Irène Schweizer, Albert Mangesldorff, OM. Das tönt nach Free Music und Avantgarde-Jazz. Und so klang es auch – im kleinen Städtchen im Hinterland.

Willisau hat seit jeher eigenwilliger programmiert als andere Jazzfestivals. Free Jazz, Black Music und Improvisation waren seine Pfeiler. Schon bald kamen Schnittstellen zum Rock, zu ethnischer Musik und zur Elektronik dazu. Damit hat sich das Jazz Festival Willisau in all den Jahren weltweit seinen exzellenten Namen gemacht. Der Ausspruch von Keith Jarrett hat dem früh Rechnung getragen. „Willisau is one of the best places für music.“

Der ehemalige Leiter Niklaus Troxler hatte Ende der 1960er mit regelmässigen Jazz-Anlässen im Hotel Mohren und im Restaurant Kreuz begonnen. Nach Hunderten von Jahreskonzerten und 35 Festivals übergab er 2010 die Leitung an seinen Neffen Arno Troxler. Dieser führt den Spirit der Willisau-Geschichte souverän weiter und fügt ihm jedes Jahr neue Schwerpunkte und eigene Facetten hinzu.

Weitere Informationen und eine Übersicht über alle bisherigen Konzerte am Festival: www.willisaujazzarchive.ch

< >